ISBS Governance

Governing Committee of the International Society of Biosemiotic Studies

The next election of the ISBS Governance Board will take place, as per our Constitution, at the General Meeting which concludes this year’s annual Gatherings in Biosemiotics, where all members present at the meeting will be eligible to cast a vote as to whether to re-appoint the current Board for another five-year term, or replace them and vote in a new Board. Any members wishing to propose the formulation of an alternative Board to replace the present one, should contact the Society Secretary by no later than July 15, 2021 at to arrange for the presentation of the counter Board proposal to be voted on during the General Meeting.

The ISBS was founded on June 12, 2005 by the following scholars: Myrdene Anderson, Marcello Barbieri, Søren Brier, Luis Emilio Bruni, Charbel El-Hani, Claus Emmeche, Donald Favareau, Jesper Hoffmeyer, Kaie Kotov, Kalevi Kull, Anton Markoš, Frederik Stjernfelt.

From 2005-2012, Jesper Hoffmeyer (University of Copenhagen) served as the Society’s President and Don Favareau (National University of Singapore) served as the Society’s Vice-President, Webmaster, Treasurer and Secretary.

From 2012-2015, Jesper Hoffmeyer (University of Copenhagen) served as the Society’s President and Timo Maran  (University of Tartu) served as the Society’s Vice-President.

The current term (2018-2021) ISBS leadership is comprised of:

President: Kalevi Kull (University of Tartu)

Vice-President: Don Favareau (National University of Singapore)

Secretary: Paul Cobley (Middlesex University, UK)

Treasurer: Ľudmila Lackova (Palacký University in Olomouc, Czech Republic)

Webmaster: Claudio J. Rodríguez H. (Palacký University in Olomouc, Czech Republic)

Board Members:

Victoria Alexander, Dactyl Foundation, New York, USA

Franco Giorgi, University of Pisa, Italy

Jamin Pelkey, Ryerson University, Canada

Yagmur Denizhan, Bogazici University, Turkey

Karel Kleisner, Charles University, Czech Republic

Kalevi Kull, University of Tartu, Estonia

The current ISBS constitution was approved at the ISBS General Assembly on 20th July 2012 at Tartu University.

  • Download a copy of the ISBS constitution
  • Download a copy of the 2012 ISBS General Assembly report